skip navigation

Brexit Information


As of midnight (CET) on 31 January 2020, the United Kingdom (UK) was no longer a member state of the European Union (EU) and is now in a transition period until at least 31 December 2020. During this transition period, the British government will negotiate the nature and style of the UK’s future relationship between with the EU - based on the Political Declaration agreed between the EU and the UK in October 2019.

Effectively, what this means is that, with the exception of treaties and acts (which were not binding to the UK before the entry into force of the Withdrawal Agreement), there is in fact no change in the UK’s adherence to EU policies and laws and it will still:

  • apply the EU's Justice and Home Affairs policy (we can still, as before, opt-in or –out of amendments, enhancements, or replacements);
  • be subject to the EU's enforcement mechanisms;
  • be subject to the jurisdiction of the EU’s Court of Justice;
  • remain in the EU Customs Union and in the Single Market with all four freedoms, and all EU policies applying; and
  • respect all international agreements the EU has signed, and will not be able to apply new agreements in areas of EU exclusive competence, unless authorized to do so by the EU.

There is no impact for travel and tourism to or from the UK during the transition period.

Please see our latest blog on the subject